My turn at last?

edited December 2015 in General
So... finally, after ages and ages of waiting and an attempt in the summer that just proved to be impossible, it seems it's finally going to be my turn very, very soon to have a shikoku of my own.

He's scheduled to leave Japan /arrive in the US on the 24th, and he'll be just shy of 12 weeks old. I'm so very, very excited to be bringing him into my home, but also very, very nervous. It's my first time raising a dog as an adult / primary care giver, so... it's a very big step for me, but one that I hope I'm ready for, after all the reading I've done.

Still, I'm feeling nervous/anxious, as I keep reading and re-reading all of the guidelines posted by CDC regarding importation. Since he's under 12 weeks/3 months (again, just barely; he was born Oct 3), I have to hope that they'll allow him to come in since he's from a rabies free country. Shigeru's website indicates that there shouldn't be a problem, and I have gone ahead and tried contacting the CDC about getting an animal quarantine approval, since it seems like that will probably be necessary... I'm just basically on pins and needles here. Does anyone have experience with this process with importing without being vaccinated for rabies...? Were you able to get your dog in okay?

Please wish me luck that everything goes well, and all of these nerves can just be something I can look back and laugh on!!

Comments

• What a cutie! It has been awhile, but we went through the CDC song and dance when we brought Yuki in from CA. They were actually very good at getting back to us with answers to questions.