The perfect Dog Run

edited April 2015 in General
In my introduction thread I mentioned the need to separate my dogs when they cant be supervised. For when I am sleeping or out of the house or I have guests. Right now they get separated in the house if I leave. I also will be hiring a person to care for my dogs during vacation if I leave town.

I am considering making a secure enclosure with a multiple dog house and an awning for shade. I am an ok carpenter and with help from family could build almost anything. On a budget.

I am considering a two dog house, duplex style. Proportionately sized. With a fence that runs from the center of the dog house out at least but not limited to 30 ft. I might consider for three dogs but I am not sure this space is enough for more then two.

So picture a square that is approximately 30ft by 30ft. Then split that to make two dog runs. Each 15ft wide by 30ft long. This is the space I have allocated to build and it is approx not exact. I need to measure.

I need to think about how to maintain a nice temperature in this dog house. What kinda heat I would need and if I would need A/C in the summer. I hear properly built it wont need heat or A/C but I have no knowledge on the subject. So any advise is appreciated.

Also how I want set up water bowls. I was thinking something that auto fills I hear they sell somthing for that. But I might just go with real big water bowls.

I am not considering pavement because the idea of that bothers me. I have seen pictures of dog runs online and I am not sure why that would be necessary. I think they would like grass better. But I know grass wont survive. So I dont know what to use. But there has got to be a better way then concreat. They could get quit muddy if it rains. Then they would need baths just to go in the house when I wake up. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I could use?

Any pictures you guys have of your dog runs and dog houses to inspire ideas. I would definitely appreciate.