Raw Food Diet Experience

edited December 2014 in General
Hey guys I've heard a lot about the Raw food DIet for dogs (BARF)...I've never done it before but I'm thinking of trying it because i heard a lot of good things about it...does anybody hear have any experience with it?

Comments

• edited December 2014
    There are several threads here about it, lots of good information in them, do a search in the nutrition section and you'll find them.

I have 4 years experience feeding raw foods. I started shortly after getting my Shiba.
    My Laika pup and my Mom's two mixbreeds do great on rawfoods, never had a problem. Excellent muscle tone, gorgeous coats, great stamina and energy, good clean teeth. I prefer to feed entirely raw/whole foods to my dogs but am tight on finances at the moment so they get a raw/kibble mix.
    Conker did really good on it too, but was recently diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease so I switched him to a strict homecooked diet the time being.
  • I feed raw to my shiba she does well on it.

I started her at 6months she got raw egg once week as a treat then 7 months got lamb ribs and gave her one with egg plus canned sardines a dinner then at 8monthes bought chicken thighs, drumsticks and breasts and made the switch.

This has a pdf guide that is helpful on raw diet.
    http://www.chanceslittlewebsite.com/prey-model-raw.html

Here's spreadsheet to help on portioning
    http://manteega.com/pack_lunch/calculator_spreadsheet/

I've looked into barf diet little bit, but don't know a ton to really give you much info on it..

I found this guide helpful
    http://preymodelraw.com/page/articles.html/_/raw-chat/how-to-get-started-feeding-a-prey-model-raw-diet-r19

My best advise don't be afraid to ask questions or ask if something normal.