Agility

edited May 2014 in General
I tried looking through past threads and couldn't find much on Nihon ken in agility so I guess I'll start one. We just started agility class with Yucca and so far she seems to really enjoy it. I know her brother Raj is doing it as well. Anyone else do agility with their Nihon Ken? If so, how do they do? What obstacles do they prefer?

Comments

• I know @sandrat888 have done agility with her shiba inu. Not sure on the other Nihon ken breeds, but I'm sure there is some who done it.

Kai ken probably do wonderful on agility with how agile and athletic they can be.

Saya does agility, but not in competition I got some set up got jump and weave poles need get a tunnel and few other items.

Saya loves it and does great her favorite is the tunnel and dog walk.
  • I think I am going to do agility with Nami. She's really easy to motivate and is incredibly athletic. I hope it will challenge her. I've never done it before, thoug, so I don't know what to expect.

I know Carleen encourages people to enter in agility with her Kishu.l, so there are Kishu doing it. Somewhere.
  • If you are on facebook, we have a Shiba Sports group which welcomes kai and covers agility, barn hunt, lure coursing, flyball, etc... https://www.facebook.com/groups/shibasports/

Lindsay (handle? ...is it @lindsayt ) is a good resource too.
  • edited May 2014
    Tavi (kai ken) is in agility.
    Shes still a puppy though, so we haven't done much yet. But we've been working on foundation since she was 10 weeks old.
    This is agility lol:
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=672828409442007
  • @WrylyBrindle sent a request to join the group :)

@crispy you should definitely try it. Im new to the sport as well. I've always wanted to get into it but I've never had a dog that wanted to. Yucca so far seems to have the perfect personality for it so I'm hopping she sticks with it
  • edited May 2014
    @omgtain how old is she now?
  • edited May 2014